What is a Triple beer?

You have all heard of Triple beer and you have probably wondered: But what is a “Triple” anyway?

Originally, the name “Triple” dates back to the Middle Ages and comes from the brewing monks who to offer their drink to the greatest number of people brewed 3 beers from the same cereals. As if you were using the same pod 3 times to make yourself a coffee in fact.

The best for the monks

As you may have guessed, the first wort obtained gave a beer that was much more aromatic but also more loaded in terms of alcohol than the others and was reserved for distinguished guests of the monasteries. To distinguish it, the monks indicated 3 crosses on the barrels. The second beer, less strong in alcohol and taste, titrated around 6 ° and was intended for abbots and paying guests. Finally, with the third juice, the monks made a lighter table beer for their own consumption.

 

Regulations for the Triple?

Nowadays, the name "Triple" does not meet any legal regulations. In fact, it is a beer with a high alcohol content, between 7 and 10%, whose color can range from a very light blonde to an amber tint, and which undergoes refermentation in the bottle. . This style, through the use of a larger quantity of grains whose fermentable sugars are transformed into alcohol, is very tasty and very rich in taste: malty, sweet, bitter and even fruity.

The Triple Gansbeek
Gansbeek Triple Bottle design.jpg

The nose oscillates between malty and spicy notes. We find aromas of yeast carried on the banana. Once in the mouth, we discover a round and effervescent body. The finish is dry with a slight short bitterness on the palate. The alcohol level around 8% provides additional heat.

Qu'est-ce qu'une bière Triple?

 

 

Vous avez toutes et tous déjà entendu parler de bière Triple et vous vous êtes certainement demandé : Mais c’est quoi une « Triple » en fait ?

À l’origine, l’appellation « Triple » remonte au Moyen-Âge et provient des moines brasseurs qui pour proposer leur breuvage au plus grand nombre brassaient 3 bières à partir des mêmes céréales. Comme si vous utilisiez 3 fois la même dosette pour vous faire un café en fait.

La meilleure pour les Moines

Comme vous l’aurez deviné, le premier moût obtenu donnait une bière beaucoup plus aromatique mais également plus chargée niveau alcool que les autres et était réservée aux hôtes de marque des monastères. Pour la distinguer, les moines indiquaient 3 croix sur les tonneaux. La deuxième bière, moins forte en alcool et en goût titrait aux alentours de 6° et était destinée aux abbés et aux hôtes payants. Enfin, avec le troisième jus les moines faisaient une bière de table plus légère pour leur propre consommation. 

 

Réglementation pour la Triple?

De nos jours, l’appellation « Triple » ne répond à aucune réglementation légale. Dans les faits, il s’agit d’une bière à fort degré d’alcool, entre 7 et 10%, dont la couleur peut s’étalonner d’une blonde très claire à une teinte ambrée, et qui subit une refermentation en bouteille. Ce style, de par l’utilisation d’une quantité plus importante de grains dont les sucres fermentescibles se transforment en alcool, est très gourmand et très riche en goût : malté, sucré, amer et même fruité.

La Triple Gansbeek

Le nez oscille entre les notes maltées et épicées. On retrouve des arômes de levures portées sur la banane. Une fois en bouche, on découvre un corps rond et effervescent. La finale est sèche avec une légère amertume courte en bouche. Le degré d’alcool autour des 8% vient apporter une chaleur supplémentaire.

  • Facebook
  • Instagram

© 2019 by Gansbeek

info@gansbeek.be
Avenue de la Réforme 76, 1083 Bruxelles

TVA BE0675.622.420